Saturday June 23 at Kilmeedy church at 7.30pm – Special Intention.

Reader – T.J Madigan, Eucharistic minister – Mary Beaulieu, Altar servers – Emily Harrold, Josh Gilbourne.

Sunday June 24 at Feenagh church at 10am – People of the Parish

Reader – Rosario Irwin, Eucharistic minister – Timmy Cremin, Altar servers – Anna and Violet Irwin.


Rosary at Feenagh church on Friday June 22 at 7pm.


The death occurred  at the Regional Hospital Limerick on Wednesday June 13 of Rory Kiely, Cloncrippa ,Feenagh. His removal was on Friday evening from O’Grady’s Funeral home Ballingarry to  Feenagh church. His Burial after mass on Saturday to Kilmeedy cemetery. The Chief  celebrant at mass was Very Rev Fr Patrick Bluett P.P Feenagh/Kilmeedy. Other celebrants were Very Rev Canon William Fitzmaurice P.P Croom, Very Rev  Canon Joseph Shire P.P Kilmallock, Very Rev Fr Seámus Gardiner P.E Portroe, Very Rev Fr Edwin Irwin P.P Clouncagh, Very Rev Fr Finbar Crowley P.P Innishannon Co. Cork, Rev Fr Noel Murphy C.C St. Pauls Limerick, Rev Fr Thomas Shanahan native of Ashford.

Rory Kiely was our best known Parishioner throughout Ireland, for his GAA and Political involvement was nationally known in every county in Ireland. He received his early education at Feenagh national school and Charleville C.B.S. His GAA involvement commenced in Feenagh in 1952 with the formation of a minor hurling team with Sean King, Kevin Long and Jim O Connor. He was involved in the revising of the club in joining Feenagh Kilmeedy under St Ita’s in 1954 and in 1955 with Fr David Wall, Jim Enright, Tommy Hatchett.  Feenagh Kilmeedy was founded. He served as Club Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer at different times in his career. He was West GAA Board Registrar from 1956 to 1964. He was elected Vice Chairman of the county GAA Board from 1966 to 1968. He was Chairman of the Board from 1969 to 1980 and was a Munster council delegate for close on 30 years. He was a Trustee of the GAA in Croke Park . He was Limerick central council delegate for three years, he served as County Senior hurling selector in various years, he was Team Manager of the Munster Senior hurling team, He was Chairman of the West GAA Board in 1987 to 1989. In 1986 he presented a cup to the Board which is played for the west minor hurling (B) Championship.

He won West Junior hurling (A) Championship with Feenagh Kilmeedy in 1955, 1960, 1962 and county Championship in 1962 as Captain. The Poem The Hurlers Prayer said “ Rory Kiely Captain lead the field ,game to the last he never yield.” He won county senior hurling in the 1963 championship with Feenagh kilmeedy and Western gales 1961-1962. He played at Full forward and would always score a few goals. He always tried hard at whatever he took on. Amongst the fullbacks he encountered were Tom Kelly Newcastlewest, Paddy Ryan Rathkeale, Mick Quaid Granagh/Ballingarry, Paddy Gilbourne Feohanagh, Dónal Broderick Dromcollogher, Jack B Enright Ardagh. He was at the forefront in securing GAA club grants at Munster council for clubs in the county as development delegate on the council and the National lottery, when the field in Feenagh was purchased for Feenagh Kilmeedy GAA club he led the way in securing grants and fundraising to get the renovations off the ground. The amenities are there because of his foresight which is there for present and future generations. He was President of the club and County board, he was great to transport the underage players to matches in the 1950 – 1960. With other club men Ned Neenan, John Murphy snr, Seán Holmes, Seán King, Maurice Geary, Seán O Gorman, William Murphy, he was a great follower of the horse racing.

His political life started in Feenagh when he was invited to a Fianna Fáil meeting in the 1950’s by then Cumann Chairman his neighbour Jim Hannon, from there he progressed in the party and was elected to the senate in 1977 on the agricultural committee, then the Seánad for election. You would have to travel the 26 counties for votes from T.D’s outgoing senators and councillors. He always secured the votes to hold his place. He contested general election in 1969 and was Cathaoirleach of Seánad Éireann from 2002 to 2007. He was one of the Comhairle Ceantair (area council) delegates and was secretary of the Feenagh Cumann for many years. He was the last of the older generation who would attend the meetings, they have all now passed to their eternal rewards, John Lordan, Jimmy O Sullivan, Charles Harry McCarthy, Michael J Murphy, Joe Lane, Tom Galvin, John Roche, Dan Egan, Gerry O Sullivan, Tim Hartnett, Tom Cronin, Donie Barrett, Michael Ring, Michael King, Tom McEnery, Patrick Wall, Frank Noonan, James Sexton, John Shortt.

A Guard of honour was formed by members of the Feenagh Kilmeedy GAA club, representatives of other clubs, Limerick GAA board, West GAA board, Munster council, Central council. GAA and Political representatives from various counties attended the removal mass and burial. The Oration was given at the graveside by Brian Cowen former Taoiseach, Micheál Martin leader of Fianna Fáil also attended. The National flag was placed on his coffin and Limerick and Feenagh Kilmeedy GAA colours also. The symbols of Rory’s life were brought to the altar at the conclusion of mass. His son Roderick gave a homily of his life and music and Hymns at mass were sung by Feenagh Kilmeedy parish choir.

Sympathy is extended to his sons Vincent and Roderick, his daughters Aileen and Maireád, his sister Eileen, daughters in law Geraldine and Sevil, sons in law Gerry and Kevin, Brother in law John, Grandchildren, nephews, nieces and his entire family.


The Thomond Archaeological and Historical Society have organised a full-day outing to the Burren Community Archaeology, Co. Clare on Sunday 1 July 2018.  Anyone who is interested please contact the organiser: Mary Kenehan 086 8053452 or email: [email protected]