Cup Final Cup Final 2

Reidy Cup Final
Newcastle Rovers 3 Feenagh 1

Feenagh’s wait for cup success in the Desmond League continues after a
3-1 defeat in Clounreask to Newcastle Rovers last Friday night. Feenagh
entered battle minus the services of the Coleman brothers through
injury and John O’Gorman who was suspended. This forced the management
duo of Bancroft and Madigan to alter their usual formation. Ger
O’Gorman was redeployed as a centre half for the evening with Billy
O’Sullivan the lone striker in a 4-5-1 formation. The early exchanges
were keenly contested but Rovers hit the front early on and doubled
their lead mid-way through the half. A fine full length save from Dan
Gayer kept Rovers at bay on another occasion. O’Sullivan was working
hard on his own up front with John Nix on the right wing proving to be
Feenagh’s principal attacking threat. A good ball from Tony Roche
released Nix down the right and the speedy winger delivered an enticing
ball across the penalty area, but unfortunately there was no one there
to take advantage from a Feenagh perspective. The old reliables of
Gilbourne and Lynch brought Feenagh back into the game. A perfectly
weighted free from Ronan Gilbourne was powerfully headed home by Timmy
Lynch to bring Feenagh right back into the game and left the half-time
score 2-1 to Rovers.

Rovers restored their two goal advantage early in the second half and
began to dominate. A number of saves from Gayer kept the game in the
melting pot. At the other end, Feenagh were creating more chances. A
ball over the top from Timmy Lynch found Damien O’Riordan who was
denied a strike at goal by a last ditch tackle. The Gilbourne/Lynch
double act nearly bore fruit again when a corner by the former was
headed goalwards by Lynch only to be denied by a good save from the
Rovers keeper. John Nix then came close with a shot that was deflected
behind for a corner. In the final analysis the better side won and
Feenagh can only ponder what might have been had they been at full
strength. Attention now returns to the league and the primary objective
of promotion to Division 1.

Team: Dan Gayer, Tony Roche, Timmy Lynch,Ger O’Gorman, Paul Lynch,
John Nix, Ronan Gilbourne, Adrian Leahy, Damien O’Riordan, Conor
Dillon, Billy O’Sullivan. Subs: Thomas O’Sullivan for Gilbourne,
Darragh Kiely for Paul Lynch and Donal Madigan for O’Gorman.
Referee: Tony Fitzmaurice, Assistants: John Roche and Paul O’Brien