8s v Abbey 1314 awards 1314 awards (4) u8 player of year

Juniors promoted

The juniors were promoted in somewhat of an anti-climax last weekend as they received a walkover from Kilcornan. However, promotion is earned over the course of an entire season and the stats don’t lie. 11 wins from 18 games with only 3 defeats, the second highest scorers in the division and no defeats away from home in the league. The side also got to The Reidy Cup Final. So, a season that began on August 23 with a 4-0 home win over Athea United B has drawn to a close and for the first time since the 2009/2010 season, Feenagh will take their place in Division 1.

Under 8’s

The final game of the season took place in Feenagh last Wednesday evening against Abbeyfeale United and resulted in a fine 5-0 win. Tomás Galvin opened the scoring with a sweet left foot strike and celebrated a la Daniel Sturridge. Another good finish from Jamie Doherty made it 2-0. An Abbey player scored an own goal under pressure from Cillian O’Sullivan to make it 3 and a near post finish from Gary Donegan and another well taken goal from Tomás Galvin completed the scoring. After the game, coach Timmy Lynch complemented his young charges on their fine season and presented the under 8 player of the year award to Jamie Doherty. Each of the players was then presented with a laminated team photo and a goody bag. Well done to all involved on a fine season.

Panel: Michael Heenan, Shauna O’Connor Tomás Ryan, Seán Holmes, Jamie Doherty, Brian Boyce, Tomás Galvin, Thomas Quaid, Gary Donegan, Josh Gilbourne, Cillian O’Sullivan, James O’Connor, John Irwin and Michaela Butler.

10’s and 12’s player of the year

Well done to Diarmaid Ryan (10s) and Ronan O’Connor (12s) who were chosen as the club player of the year at their respective age levels.